Whole and Yummy Breakfasts

Over the past week I’ve set about making  a couple nourishing and sweet breakfasts that beg to be written about.

The first, is vegan buckwheat blueberry pancakes!  I used Isa Chandra Moskowitz’s “Pancake” recipe from her awesome book Vegan with a Vengeance and modified it to a more healthy and well, let’s say “nourishing” recipe.  Instead of using all-purpose-flour I opted for a grainier, denser, and in short nutrient packed flour—buckwheat.  And, I chose grapeseed oil instead of canola oil, which I hear is better for far more reasons.  And my last modification was hemp milk instead of a rice or soy milk, simply because it’s creamy tastes great and seems to be much healthier than the former options.

Here is a picture of the pancake batter! I got really excited because the buckwheat and hemp milk together smelled like a healthy, nutty, and whole nutritious miracle. 🙂

After getting into the perfect balance of heat and timing while the pancakes were on the stove I started cooking two at once and because they were small I had to be patient and repeat the cooking process several times.  I almost felt like a chef at a café…almost.  My parents saw me cooking away: putting oil on the skillet, timing four minutes of cooking time on each side, and flipping over each one.  The fact that I was happily cooking and modifying recipes into my own made them super ecstatic.  YAY for happy parents.  Below, a couple lovely circles becoming golden brown.

A while later, during my slow afternoon process of meticulously cooking pancakes, there was a generous stack of chocolate chip looking pancakes waiting to be enjoyed with creme fraiche, good honey, and smiles.

The second yummy hearty warming breakfast is aptly in the winter section of Sophie Dahl’s first cookbook.  Nonetheless I had to make it: a porridge with honey, dried apricots, and crème fraiche.  I used almond milk, and instead of manuka honey I used my current favorite honey, a Hawaiian organic blossom I recently bought and every time I try it I think “heaven.”

In other news, I’ve been listening to KCRW’s “Album Preview” station online, and have been thoroughly enjoying the live session with Fleet Foxes, Lisa Hannigan’s new album, and the unique new music from St. Vincent—who will be at The New Yorker Festival coming up soon.  While writing, reading, and thinking, it’s great to listen to this station…good ole KCRW. Hannigan’s album is particularly amazing so you must check it out. The track with Ray La Montagne is bliss.

About ravishingshaukwaves

Leila Shauk is a recent graduate from Sarah Lawrence. She studied Poetry, Philosophy, Art History, Literature, Music, and Fiction Writing. She has a penchant for good writing and good food. Apart from good eats and literature, she loves practicing yoga, playing bass, and exploring other forms of creativity like abstract painting, and cooking.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

